Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial, established in 1925, features 60-foot sculptures of four US presidents—George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln—carved into the granite mountain top. The memorial, designed by sculptor Gutzon Borglum, covers 1,278.45 acres and sits 5,725 feet above sea level.

Over the decades, Mount Rushmore has grown as a symbol of America - a symbol of freedom and a hope for people from all cultures and backgrounds. Millions of people from all over the world visit annually to marvel at the majestic beauty of the Black Hills and to learn about the birth, growth, development and the preservation of the United States.

Plan Your Visit

NPF'S Impact at Mount Rushmore National Memorial